The older I get, the earlier it gets late.

For years I have joked about being 20 going on 90. I have been an old woman for as long as I can remember. Yet suddenly – by being 25 – I am acutely aware like never before, that I am legal to do pretty much anything, anywhere in the world.

Is this what it means to get old? Is this what it feels like? Not the feeling of wanting to sip tea and stroke my cat, but the feeling of being able to do anything I want?! Like, literally A.NY.THING.

 

Drinking in the UK – 18

Drinking in the US – 21

Learning to drive  in the UK – 17

Learning to drive in the US – 16

Adopt a child – 21

Buy fireworks – 18

Change name – 16

Gamble – 18

Get married – 18

Buy/Hire a firearm – 17

Buy cigarettes – 18

 

HOWEVER

 

Despite this ‘exhaustive’ list of freedoms, and being the person of niche interests that I am, none of the above are activities that particularly interest me.

Thus, the following questions have popped into my mind this week…

 

Am I too old to be wearing brightly coloured shoes?

Should I be wearing more Crimplene?

Am I too old to legitimately get away  with blaming my hair colour for my sheer stupidity?

Am I too old to play with Lego? (Age on the box is 7-14, yet I still struggle. Go figure.)

Am I too old to stay up past 10pm?

Am I too old to be this constantly tired, or is this what old is?

Am I too old to listen to Radio 1?

Should I be venturing into Radio 4 territory?

Am I too old to listen to the music of Little Mix?

Am I too old (should I know better than…) to get insecure from other peoples lives on Instagram?

Am I too old to get away with being a shit driver?

Should I take up boules?

 

Answers on a postcard please.

2 thoughts on “The older I get, the earlier it gets late.

Leave a Reply

