I AM WHO I AM

My Mum once told me when I was younger [and having an existential crisis] that everyone continues to change as a person until around the age of 25. I’ve been thinking about this a lot recently and it got me pondering about how I would define myself. Who am I, who do I want to be and what sort of person am I?

So, step 1 – Who have I been?

  • Meaning of the name ‘Emily’: from the Latin name Aemilia, meaning “striving,” “eager.” 
  • Urban Dictionary definition for ‘Emily’: slang term for a highly attractive and sexually intriguing individual (not going to argue with this one!).
  • Daughter
  • Sister
  • Friend
  • Pain in the arse (sorry Mum!)
  • Victim
  • Survivor
  • Klutz (Definitely not worth me arguing with this one – the amount of dents on my car is evidence enough!)
  • Self pity-er
  • Girlfriend (In many forms)
  • Geek

Step 2 – Who am I today?

  • Daughter
  • Sister
  • Friend
  • Pain in the arse (still, probably)
  • Klutz (definitely still – see fishy car debacle)
  • Geek
  • Proud

Step 3 – Who do I want to be?

  • Mother? ……hmmm
  • Wife? No thank you.
  • Auntie (yes please. Tom, Ed – I’m looking at you!)
  • Sister
  • Daughter
  • Friend
  • Klutz
  • Geek
  • Confident
  • Content

You’ll notice I have highlighted the common denominators. Looking at these I’d say I’m not doing so badly (klutz aside!). The two things that matter the most to me – friends and family – are the things that I am already fulfilling, just by being me.

So maybe I should stop being so hard on myself?

I hold my self to such high standards, yet I will accept other’s for who they are and will always find the good in people – I have perhaps a reverse double standards, if you will (I will).

So – you heard it here first – I am going to start being nicer to myself, more supportive of myself and more accepting of myself, starting today.

Or maybe tomorrow.  

EMILY AUDREY XANTHE CLARK IS ENOUGH (WARTS, DENTS AND ALL).

 

 

 

One thought on “I AM WHO I AM

  1. Ha ha ha this year I am going to be 25yrs old…..for the second time….and I am still changing… developing…. learning…. making mistakes (some worse than others)….and surprising myself about who I am…what I can do…and what I can’t do. But I have learnt that I am an imperfectly nice person….and my family love me. That’s good enough for me. Good luck on your journey through life Emily….it’s a wonderful thing…full of highs and lows…and you will still be wondering about it/yourself as you exit it….hopefully in old age 👍😊x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

