Mum’s the word

This blog post is wholly, unequivocally dedicated to my guardian angel – my Mother. Jacqueline Mary Clark. Best friend. Rock. Moral compass. Shoulder. Crutch.
Last  night I entered a small crisis bought on by extreme exhaustion. I knew I had been pushing myself to my very limits but I chose to ignore it, much to the detriment of my mental health. Despite this, my Mum drove 20 minutes at 10.30pm purely to give me a cuddle (because there is no better healer than a Mother’s embrace.).
This is on top of the fact that she’d spent all of Saturday at my flat; tidying and cleaning the shit that I have been unable to do (everything), due to a busy schedule and fluctuating mental health.
ON TOP OF THIS, today she is attending an important meeting which will form the basis of some potentially life changing decisions on my part.
Yet, despite all of these selfless acts, my dear Mother still feels like she is doing an inadequate job.

WHAAAAAAAAAT?!

In no other job are you called upon to be a cleaner, a counsellor, a nurse, a support worker, a friend, a bank, and everything in between…FOR FREE.

FREE.

£0 AN HOUR.

 

With Mother’s day fast approaching, I am acutely aware that I have nothing to offer by way of thanks. With a bank balance reading of **ERROR: INSUFFICIENT FUNDS** how am I supposed to show my appreciation of this unconditional, undying love? How, in anyway am I going to show my gratitude to this amazing woman who has given me life and supported me through childhood, to adulthood; who has been there during the ups and the downs and never once judged me for the poor decisions I have made?

I came to the conclusion that the best thing I could offer was my words and my love. So here it is (**SOPPY ALERT**).

Jacqueline Mary Clark. Thank you. Thank you for being you. Thank you for being my friend. Thank you for being my Mother. Thank you for being my rock. Thank you for saving my life in more ways than it is possible to explain. You are truly a gift; not just to me, but also to my brothers. A gift to the community that you so diligently serve. A gift to your friends. Your brothers and sister. Your nieces and nephews. The world.

You are beautiful, inside and out; your kindness, strength and gentleness shine through like a beacon that not one person can ignore.

You are an inspiration.

If I am half the woman that your are when I ‘grow up’ then I know that I will have succeeded at life.

So thank you. For everything.

I love you. x

2 thoughts on “Mum’s the word

Leave a Reply

