Who runs the world? We all do.

As I sit here, covered in coffee due to an inevitable – and no doubt long overdue – spillage, reading endless political posts on Facebook I began to muse about politics and voting in general.

It is due to strong and relentless women that today, I am able to cast a vote. They wouldn’t have cared who I vote for – that’s not what it’s about. They would, however, have cared that I have THE RIGHT to do so.

As a species we still have a long way to go in terms of equality. I am in no way a staunch feminist, but I believe in equality and equal rights – there is no denying we are a million miles from where we started hundreds of years ago, but we are still no where near where we need to be.

So this got me thinking about the strong women in history that enable me, in todays society, to have a job and work , spill coffee on myself, wear whatever I like, live on my own, speak my mind and VOTE.

Women as far back as Cleopatra, right up to present day women have been tenacious and determined – most certainly an inspiration for all women in 2017 and onwards.

  • Sappho
  • Joan of Arc
  • Queen Elizabeth I
  • Queen Elizabeth II
  • Mary Wollstonecraft
  • Jane Austen
  • Florence Nightingale
  • EMMELINE PANKHURST
  • Marie Curie
  • Coco Chanel
  • Eleanor Roosevelt
  • ROSA PARKS
  • Benazir Bhutto
  • J K Rowling
  • MALALA YOUSAFZAI

I could go on, and on listing these incredible women. I have deliberately not told you what they have done because I want you to go and find out; go and read and be INSPIRED.

It does not pass me by that I am privileged and BLESSED to be a woman in the Western world. There are thousands upon thousands of women in this world who can but only dream of the privileges that we have. THIS NEEDS TO CHANGE. For as long as women are paid less than men, not allowed to drive, are told what to and what not to wear, are punished unfairly, are not allowed to be educated, are beaten and down trodden, are forced into genital mutilation this NEEDS TO CHANGE.

So who are we, as privileged Western women to do nothing about this? We owe it to all the women listed above, and more, to do something about it – we are in a position that we CAN do something about it. There are still women in the world who are not allowed to speak their minds – you better believe it!

Women in general are strong, yet caring – kind, yet compassionate – bold, yet gentle – but…still not allowed to express their own points of view?! Intelligent, beautiful women still treated as second class citizens.

So I challenge you – men, and women – I challenge myself, to be more aware of this but moreover, to DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT. I don’t know what, but starting from today I vow to do more and to do what I can, in any way I can to help these women.

You don’t have to be a feminist to do so. I still wouldn’t say I am a feminist.

I am human.

I am equal.

As we all should be.

“When the whole world is silent, even one voice becomes powerful.”

BE

THAT

VOICE.

#PRAYFOR EQUALITY

P.S. If you disagree with what I have said, challenge me. I dare you.

P.P.S. The coffee burnt.

Leave a Reply

